03
May
09

North Korea abductions

I finished reading “North Korea Kidnapped my Daughter” by Sakie Yokota. This is a memoir of her daughter, Megumi’s abduction. Of course, for many years it was not known to be an abduction, just an unexplained disappearance. This book is short and easy to read, though obviously its a heavy topic. The worst part is that the book was written in 1999 and recently translated so we miss insights into her opinions and thoughts following the 2002 revelation by Kim Jong-il during Koizumi’s visit and the subsequent events.

Korea Blogs – Roboseyo is collating information of female bloggers in Korea. There are a couple of things that make me uncomfortable about this. Why is a male the one to do this? If female bloggers in Korea feel they are not getting their voice out there and are unsatisfied with that, can’t female bloggers in Korea take up the task of promoting their blogs further? From a distance this smacks of male interference.

The second area is related to that: why are male k-bloggers not bothering to read female k-bloggers in the first place? Surely if these women are writing interesting topical posts, it does not take a list of them (separate to blogrolls and the Korea blog list) for people to find them. I’m not against having a list of female, English language bloggers focusing on Korea and who are geographically located in Korea (if I got that criteria right) but I’m not entirely convinced about it either.

2 Responses to “North Korea abductions”


  1. May 11, 2009 at 2:09 am

    A male’s the one to do it because I’m male, and I thought of it. A few months ago, Melissa of Expat Games did complain that K-blog were male-centric, but that comment thread kind of ended with a discussion of general tips on how to make one’s blog more popular. I think of the collection as a community service first of all, because there’s information females need about Korea which cannot be provided by males; secondly, I don’t know why the Korea blogosphere shows a male bias, but it seems to do so, and the fact it does now might lead to a chicken/egg situation where females feel unwelcome to get involved, so Kblogland gets even more male-centric.

    A number of formerly well-known and often-read female K-bloggers have repatriated recently as well. As for male interference, I’m not sure how to answer such a critique, except to say that for the sake of The Hub Of Sparkle, I’m trying to gather community information into one place, and I don’t know how the fact I’m male plays into that.

  2. June 17, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I, too, don’t have a problem with Roboseyo putting that list together. Him being male doesn’t have a negative influence on it. As he said, Expatriate Games complained about it first, on Roboseyo’s “Hub of Sparkle,” so I assume he felt a little guilty and wanted to give more attention.

    But, to be fair there simply aren’t that many women bloggers in Korea who are updating several times a day and posting a mix of travel, news, culture, teaching, etc. I’m spread pretty thin as it is, and so I’m a little picky about who I read each day. Though there are a couple women bloggers I like in Korea—though what does their being female have anything to do with it—like I just said there simply aren’t as many women blogging here. One doesn’t need to be a different gender to comment on that.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031