04
Mar
14

Courtyards

Today was the first day of classes. My class is full of Japanese students and only four non-Japanese, including myself. I already have several pages of new words that need to be absorbed. In the afternoon I joined a student tour of the Edificio de Universidad de Salamanca. It was in Spanish so I didn’t really catch very much – just a few words and phrases here and there. However, I did run into the two other students that I met yesterday including the French student who was so helpful. After the tour we concluded at the gift shop and I splurged on a pencil sharpener.

Amazingly I also went for a run (it would be more accurate to call it a ‘jog’ but I’m told that its not cool to say that anymore). I feared I would truncate the run that was planned due to chronic laziness but I managed to complete the circuit. However, I didn’t time the run very well as the last part through the old town was too crowded. I either need to run at a different time (during siesta) or I should run a longer circuit that goes around the old town entirely.

Below is a photo of the courtyard of the building where class takes place.

Image

Below is a photo of the courtyard at the Edificio de Universidad de Salamanca

Imagee

3 Responses to “Courtyards”


  1. March 5, 2014 at 9:19 am

    So I went to Google Translate to look up how to say “courtyard” in Spanish, and was surprised to see it’s “el patio.” Interesting. In American English, a “patio” refers to a rather mundane extension of the house—a smallish, concrete-covered area, a couple meters on a side, on which one places a few gauche-looking deck chairs and maybe a barbecue grill and a table.

    In French, a language I know well, a courtyard is “une cour,” as in the character Fleur Delacour (“courtyard flower”) from the Harry Potter books. Enjoy your “patios”!

    • 2 sojuandsake
      March 17, 2014 at 9:57 pm

      Yep, totally agree. The ‘los patios’ here in Spain are definitely not what I would normally think of as a patio.

      • March 18, 2014 at 3:29 am

        Whenever I see such images, my mental stereotype-creator goes into overdrive, and I overlay the courtyard scene with a soundtrack of classical Spanish guitar, murmuring gently in the background. Hard to get that out of my head.


Leave a Reply

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31